☥ Ankh symbol ☬ Sikh Khanda emoji, ✡ jewish star sign 🙏

Cross ⸸✞☦✝✟♱☥♁✙⚰️⛧ Learn to type cross symbols ☩ ☨ ☦ ✞ and more directly from your keyboard whether you're on Windows, Mac, or Linux. You can put them in Facebook, Instagram, Youtube, your blog, or anywhere you like. Religious crosses. Alt codes and more.

Praying hands Click to copy-paste a sign, symbol or emoji below.

Religious symbols, emoji and signs


What religious symbols mean




☥ Ankh

The Ankh symbol also known as key of life, the key of the Nile or crux ansata (Latin meaning "cross with a handle"), was the ancient Egyptian hieroglyphic character that read "life" It represents the concept of eternal life, which is the general meaning of the symbol. The Egyptian gods are often portrayed carrying it by its loop, or bearing one in each hand, arms crossed over their chest.

☦ Orthodox cross

The Orthodox is a variation of the Christian cross, commonly found in Eastern Orthodox and Eastern Catholic Churches of Byzantine rite. The cross has three horizontal crossbeams—the top represents the plate inscribed with INRI, and the bottom, a footrest.

☧ Chi Rho

The Chi Rho is one of the earliest forms of christogram, and is used by some Christians. It is formed by superimposing the first two letters chi and rho (ΧΡ) of the Greek word "ΧΡΙΣΤΟΣ" Christ in such a way to produce the monogram. Although not technically a Christian cross, the Chi-Rho invokes the crucifixion of Jesus, as well as symbolizing his status as the Christ.

☨ Cross of Lorraine

The Cross of Lorraine was originally a heraldic cross. The two-barred cross consists of a vertical line crossed by two shorter horizontal bars. In most renditions, the horizontal bars are "graded" with the upper bar being the shorter, though variations with the bars of equal length are also seen.

☩ Cross of Jerusalem

The Jerusalem cross, also known as Crusaders' cross or the "Five-fold Cross", and crusader emoji is a heraldic cross or Christian symbol consisting of a large cross potent surrounded by four smaller Greek crosses, one in each quadrant. The symbolism of the five-fold cross is variously given as the Five Wounds of Christ, Christ and the four quarters of the world, Christ and the four evangelists.

☪ Star and crescent

A star and crescent featuring in some combination form the basis of symbols widely found across the ancient world, with examples attested from the Eastern Mediterranean and Central Asia. During the 1950s to 1960s, the symbol was re-interpreted as symbolic of Islam or the Muslim community.

☫ Farsi symbol

The Emblem of Iran since the 1979 Iranian Revolution features a stylized Perso-Arabic script of the Arabic word Allah. The logo consists of four crescents and a sword. The four crescents are meant to stand for the word Allah. The five parts of the emblem symbolize the Principles of the Religion. Above the sword is a shadda: in Arabic script, this is used to double a letter. The shape of the emblem is chosen to resemble a tulip, for the memory of the people who died for Iran.

☬ Khanda

The Khanda symbol depicts the Sikh doctrine Deg Tegh Fateh in emblematic form. It is also part of the design of the "Sikh national flag", the Nishan Sahib. A double edged sword (also called Khanda) is placed at the top of a Nishan Sahib flag as an ornament or finial. Two single-edged swords, or kirpans, are crossed at the bottom and sit on either side of the Khanda symbol and Chakkar. They represent the dual characteristics of Miri-Piri, indicating the integration of both spiritual and temporal sovereignty together and not treating them as two separate and distinct entities. Also known as Khalsa emoji sign, waheguru symbol. It's also known as khalistan flag emoji.

☸ Wheel of Dharma

The dharmachakra (lit. "Wheel of Dharma" or "Wheel of Life") is a symbol that has represented dharma, the Buddha's teaching of the path to enlightenment, since the early period of Indian Buddhism. A similar symbol is also in use in Jainism. It is one of the Ashtamangala symbols.

✠ Maltese cross

The Maltese cross, also known as the Amalfi cross, is the cross symbol associated with the Knights Hospitaller (the Knights of Malta) and by extension with the island of Malta. The cross is eight-pointed and has the form of four "V"-shaped elements, each joining the others at its vertex, leaving the other two tips spread outward symmetrically. Its design is based on crosses used since the First Crusade. It is also the modern symbol of Amalfi, a small Italian republic of the 11th century.

✡ Star of David

The Star of David, known in Hebrew as the Shield of David or Magen David is a generally recognized symbol of Jewish identity and Judaism. Its shape is that of a hexagram, the compound of two equilateral triangles. The hexagram has been in use as a symbol of Judaism since the 17th century, with precedents in the 14th to 16th centuries in Central Europe, where the Shield of David was partly used in conjunction with the Seal of Solomon (the hexagram) on Jewish flags.

ﷲ Allah

Allah is the Arabic word for God (literally 'the God', as the initial "Al-" is the definite article). It is used mainly by Muslims to refer to God in Islam, Arab Christians, and often, albeit not exclusively, by Bahá'ís, Arabic-speakers, Indonesian and Maltese Christians, and Mizrahi Jews.

How to input religious symbols

Choose your system and find out.


Shift States

Configure your keyboard layout in Windows so that you can type all additional symbols you want as easy as any other text. Takes about 5-10 minutes to set things up, but you'll be typing like a boss. You can assign religious symbols and any other text characters to your keyboard using this technique.

Character Map

CharMap allows you to view and use all characters and symbols available in all fonts (some examples of fonts are "Arial", "Times New Roman", "Webdings") installed on your computer. You can input religious symbols using it.


Emoji on iOS (iPhone, iPad and iPod touch)

Text Symbols with iPhone Emoji keyboard 📲
Text Symbols with iPhone Emoji keyboard 📲Simple and beautiful way to discover how to add a virtual keyboard for Emoji symbols visible as small pictures. The keyboard itself is preinstalled on your iOS device, so you don't have to download, or buy anything.

Character Palette

Character Palette allows you to view and use all characters and symbols, including religious ones, available in all fonts (some examples of fonts are "Arial", "Times New Roman", "Webdings") installed on your computer.


From Keyboard

Unicode hex code Symbol Name Unicode hex code Symbol Name
9765 Ankh emoji 9766 Orthodox cross
9767 Chi Rho 9768 Cross of Lorraine
9769 Cross of Jerusalem 9770 Star and crescent
9771 Farsi symbol 9772 Khanda emoji
9784 Wheel of Dharma 10016 Maltese cross
10017 Star of David 65010 Allah

There actually are 3 different ways to type symbols on Linux with a keyboard. But only third and fourth level chooser keys and unicode hex codes can produce religious text symbols.

Character map

Character map allows you to view and use all characters and symbols available in all fonts (some examples of fonts are "Arial", "Times New Roman", "Webdings") installed on your computer. It can also help you lookup Unicode codes for entering symbols with keyboard.

HTML code

Following is a list of HTML and JavaScript entities for religious symbols. In Javascript you should write like a = "this \u2669 symbol" if you want to include a special symbol in a string.

HTML entity JS entity Symbol Name HTML entity JS entity Symbol Name
靥 \u9765 Ankh sign 靦 \u9766 Orthodox cross
靧 \u9767 Chi Rho 靨 \u9768 Cross of Lorraine
革 \u9769 Cross of Jerusalem 靰 \u9770 Star and crescent
靱 \u9771 Farsi symbol 靲 \u9772 Khanda
鞄 \u9784 Wheel of Dharma 𐀖 \u10016 Maltese cross
𐀗 \u10017 Star of David 񥀐 \u65010 Allah
Last update 4 years ago